Reflection – Week 05

On Thursday October 9th 2014, I came to class at the Continuing Studies Department in Room 5. The Cool A.C. made me feel relaxed and the clean atmosphere invigorate my thoughts for the lesson ahead.

Lindsworth Deer’s MICO Wars The Teacher Force Awakens (5)

I felt happy having already completed the activity from the previous class. This sense of achievement made me feel confident and relaxed.

I guess I felt happy because for the first time, the lecturer Mrs. Howell-Williams gave us dedicated notes for the course instead of random notes. This along with the Cartridge Paper activity suggested she came prepared to teach a thoroughly involved (Cashin,1990) lesson based around an activity.

Also thorough a thoroughly stimulating activity involving Cartridge Paper and handouts I learned more about Journaling (Finley, 2010) and its benefits.

As the class ended I realized that the notes suggested In-Course was near. I decided to check to see if there was really an In-Course test for the class, as I thought it was just coursework only evaluation.

I thus resolved to get ready and arm myself with more notes from the shared email as well as from the Library resources.

References:

[1] Cashin, W. E. (1990). Students do rate different academic fields differently. In Student ratings of instruction: Issues for improving practice, ed. M. Theall and J. Franklin. New Directions for Teaching and Learning 43. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass.
[2] Finley, T. (2010, September 1). The Importance of Student Journals and How to Respond Efficiently. Retrieved from http://www.edutopia.org/blog/student-journals-efficient-teacher-responses

Leave a Reply

